But, when you turn it off, what really happens? Some scenarios include:
- You get a cleaner reading experience, removing annoying pop-ups and ads (varies by website).
- It blocks several elements on websites that include tracking cookies, improving your privacy.
- It eliminates the possibility of a hacker injecting malicious code into the web page you are browsing.
Yes and no.
A hacker cannot trick you into loading malicious scripts from the web page you are visiting because you have already blocked it. If you do not apply the block, the malicious script may load into your browser to download a suspicious file or anything that may affect your computer.
However, other security threats are still lurking on different web pages. It could be something in the file you downloaded from a website or an email. It could also be a fake website where you entered your account credentials unknowingly.
You can use some privacy-focused browser extensions to get more functionality and control. Again, this means your user experience will be affected.
Either way, you can explore content preferences (via Site Settings) in your Chrome browser, which can be found under the Privacy and Security settings of any Chrome-based browser.
You can refer to the official documentation of any other browser you tend to use.